Please allow additional time if using shuttles to travel between the terminal, parking lots and rail station as shuttle delays are possible. Travelers should plan to arrive at the terminal 2 hours before scheduled domestic departure.



Governor Hogan Appoints Three New Maryland Aviation Commissioners

Maryland Aviation Commission Holds First Meeting of 2017 Today


Governor Larry Hogan today announced Chineta Kennedy Davis of Elkridge, John Kiser of Kensington and David Winstead of Chevy Chase as the three newest appointees to the Maryland Aviation Commission. The Maryland Aviation Commission is an advisory panel to the Maryland Department of Transportation’s Maryland Aviation Administration (MAA). The MAA owns and operates Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport and Martin State Airport, and regulates the State’s public-use airports. The Maryland Aviation Commission holds its first meeting of 2017 today.

“All three of these individuals are very well accomplished and bring very diverse backgrounds that I believe will be of great value to the Maryland Aviation Commission,” said Governor Hogan. “BWI Marshall continues to be a tremendous economic driver for Maryland, and I am confident these experts will provide the leadership needed to continue to propel BWI Marshall and regional aviation to be successful.”

The Commission consists of nine voting members. Eight members are appointed by the Governor, and the Secretary of Transportation serves as the Chairman. Each appointed member serves a three-year term, pending Senate confirmation.

“We welcome the new members of the Maryland Aviation Commission, along with their skills and expertise,” said Ricky Smith, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer of the Maryland Aviation Administration. “Their leadership is of great value as we work to ensure a first-class aviation system for the State of Maryland.”

Ms. Davis is a retired Vice President and General Manager of Electronic Systems Operations with the Northrop Grumman Corporation. Ms. Davis held a variety of professional and management roles with Northrop Grumman for more than 30 years. She earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering from Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore. Ms. Davis completed the executive marketing program at the University of California, Los Angeles, the general managers’ program at Harvard University, and the African American Leadership Institute at the University of California.

Mr. Kiser had more than four decades of top-level aviation policy and regulatory experience as a negotiator, economist, analyst, and manager with the U.S. Department of Transportation and the Civil Aeronautics Board. Mr. Kiser concluded his federal service in 2014 as Chief of the Pricing and Multilateral Affairs Division, Department of Transportation. He earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in International Studies and Economics from the School of International Service, American University.

Mr. Winstead is an attorney with Ballard Spahr LLP in Washington, DC. A former Maryland Secretary of Transportation, Mr. Winstead’s career combines broad private and public sector experience. He previously served as Commissioner of Public Buildings at the U.S. General Services Administration, the Executive Director of the Washington/Baltimore Regional Association, and President of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials. Mr. Winstead chaired the National Commission to Ensure Consumer Information in the Airline Industry. He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from Denison University, a Masters of Business Administration from Columbia University, and a Juris Doctorate from the Catholic University Columbus School of Law.

The entire Maryland Aviation Commission is currently comprised of:

  • Maryland Secretary of Transportation Pete K. Rahn, Chairman
  • Chineta Davis
  • Philip Parenti
  • Calvin Peacock
  • David Winstead
  • Anwer Hasan
  • Enrique Melendez
  • John Kiser
  • Raymond Nichols
  • Maryland Secretary of Commerce Michael Gill, nonvoting ex officio member
  • Ricky Smith, MAA Executive Director/CEO

The Maryland Aviation Commission will meet today at 1:00 p.m. at Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport. The meeting will be held in the Linowes Conference Room in the third floor terminal offices of the Maryland Department of Transportation’s Maryland Aviation Administration (MAA). Meetings are open to the public. A portion of each meeting may be held in closed session in accordance with 10-508 (d)(2) of the State government article, Annotated Code of Maryland.